You are here

Spring Members Meeting Agenda

2020 Spring Members Meeting Agenda (DRAFT) 

Tuesday 29 September through to Friday 02 October 2020  

LOCATION: Online Virtual Platform

 

COVID-19 has forced CIOs everywhere to rapidly change our narrative and respond resourcefully to not only the current situation but to future needs as well. More than ever before, we must serve as technical leaders supporting our institutions and the sector to emerge from this crisis stronger than ever. To do so, we must look to the areas of contain, sustain, and grow to guide our strategy.

Please note that CAUDIT Member Meetings are conducted under the Chatham House Rule.

Short breaks (5 minutes) have been built into the program between the sessions. 

 

AGENDA DAY 1 – Tuesday 29 September 2020 
THEME: Contain

To contain is to be capable of holding, to prevent spread, to keep under control. In a post-COVID world, we must review our current commitments to assess how we can make better use of our limited resources.  Some services and initiatives, that seemed important while international student revenue permitted us to grow, may now no longer be as crucial. Are there vendor contracts to be renegotiated? Under-used systems to be decommissioned? What projects can we press pause, scale down, or stop in light of changing priorities?

Note: NZ times are displayed with adjusted Daylight Saving which takes effect on Sunday 27 September 2020. 

Time

Event

9:00 AWST
10:30 ACST
11:00 AEST
14:00 NZ

(60 min)

Doors Open 

10:00 AWST
11:30 ACST
12:00 AEST
15:00 NZ

(5 min)

Housekeeping

Zoran Sugarevski
Executive Director, Victoria University

10:05 AWST
11:35 ACST
12:05 AEST
15:05 NZ

(10 min)

Welcome

Gina White
President, CAUDIT & Director, Technology Services, Southern Cross University

10:10 AWST
11:40 ACST 
12:10 AEST
15:10  NZ

(10 min)

Sponsor of the Day Welcome

Paul Simos
Senior Director, Enterprise Sales, VMware Australia & New Zealand
10:20 AWST
11:50 ACST
12:20 AEST
15:20 NZ

(10 min)

Outline of the four days

Zoran Sugarevski
Executive Director, Victoria University
10:30 AWST
12:00 ACST
12:30 AEST
15:30 NZ

(30 min)

CLOSED SESSION

KEYNOTE

CIO Time Study: Where do the most successful CIO’s spend their time?

Gerald Khoury, PhD
Senior Executive Advisor, Info-Tech Research Group   
11:00 AWST
12:30 ACST
13:00 AEST
16:00 NZ

(5 min)

Break

11:05 AWST
12:35 ACST
13:05 AEST
16:05 NZ

(40 min)

Group Discussion (Topic: Contain)

Table discussions with fellow peers on actions taken to reduce costs, sharing measures that have already been taken, and creative approaches to contain operations in light of budget cuts and restructuring

11:45 AWST
13:15 ACST
13:45 AEST
16:45 NZ

(30 min)

Panel Discussion (Topic: Contain)

Following on from the Table discussions, stay engaged for a Panel Discussion led by peers and sector leaders on the topic of ‘contain’.

Panel Members

Gina White
President, CAUDIT & Director, Technology Services, Southern Cross University
 
Mark Griffith 
Director of Customer Service Delivery, UNSW Sydney
 
Ben Tulloch
Managing Director - Intelligent Operations, Accenture Australia Ltd. 
 
 
12:15 AWST
13:45 ACST
14:15 AEST
17:15 NZ

(10 min)

CAUDIT Update – Procurement

Vito Forte
Chair, Strategic Procurement Committee and Director, Digital and Campus Services & CIO, Edith Cowan University
12:25 AWST
13:55 ACST
14:25 AEST
17:25 NZ

(5 min)

Break

12:30 AWST
14:00 ACST
14:30 AEST
17:30  NZ

(30 min)

2020 Award Presentation

Improving Student Success
Sponsored by ServiceNow
 
Doug Alcock
Enterprise Account Executive, Service Now
13:00 AWST
14:30 ACST
15:00 AEST
18:00 NZ

(5 min)

Take-aways from the Day

Zoran Sugarevski
Executive Director, Victoria University
13:05 AWST
14:35 ACST
15:05 AEST
18:05 NZ

(60 min)

Networking 

CLOSED SESSION = no vendors.  While we are not expecting any vendors to be present at any session, it is our standard practice to note such sessions.  Viewing of these sessions later will require login to the CAUDIT website.

 

AGENDA DAY 2 – Wednesday 30 September 2020
THEME: Sustain

Some things will never change. We’re all here to serve our institution to deliver their core functions of researching, learning, and teaching. We must now also empower our staff to work flexibly and confidently amidst uncertainty.  And while the temptation might be there for institutions to fight for a bigger slice of a decreasing pie, we know from experience that it is cooperation across much of what we do that has allowed us to be more efficient and to thrive. Where do we focus our attention to make sure we can do this? Are there high-value projects to be fast-tracked? What do we need to maintain for compliance? How and on what do we partner to deliver sustainable operations and change.

Note: NZ times are displayed with adjusted Daylight Saving which takes effect on Sunday 27 September 2020. 

Time

Event

9:00 AWST
10:30 ACST
11:00 AEST
14:00 NZ

(60 min)

Doors Open 

10:00 AWST
11:30 ACST
12:00 AEST
15:00 NZ

(5 min)

Housekeeping

Adrian Dillon
Chief Information Officer, University of Tasmania 
10:05 AWST
11:35 ACST
12:05 AEST
15:05 NZ

(10 min)

Sponsor of the Day Welcome


Jane Mackarell
Sales and Marketing Manager, Microsoft 
10:15 AWST
11:45 ACST
12:15 AET
15:15 NZ

(30 min)

KEYNOTE

Supporting Resilient Operations-Helping business respond to COVID-19

Steve Miller
Chief Operating Officer, Microsoft Australia  
10:45 AWST
12:15 ACST
12:45 AEST
15:45 NZ

(5 min)

Break

10:50 AWST
12:20 ACST
12:50 AEST
15:50 NZ

(40 min)

Group Discussion (Topic: Sustain)

Table discussions sharing how members are sustaining services: are some services being dropped; reduced in scope; combined or delivered in a new way? Offering more vanilla, less bespoke services?

11:30 AWST
13:00 ACST
13:30 AEST
16:30 NZ

(30 min)

Panel Discussion (Topic: Sustain)

Following on from the Table discussions, stay engaged for a Panel Discussion led by peers and sector leaders on the topic of ‘sustain’.

Panel Members 

Warwick Calkin
Chief Information Officer, The University of Western Australia 
 
Rodney Hamill
Director, Data Centre and Cloud, Australia and New Zealand, CISCO
 
Teresa Tjia
Strategic Advisor
 
12:00 AWST
13:30 ACST
14:00 AEST
17:00 NZ

(10 min)

CAUDIT Update - Cybersecurity and Benchmarking 

Greg Sawyer
Director, Cybersecurity Program
 
Steven Wojnarowski
Director, Analytics and Strategic Initiatives 
12:10 AWST
13:40 ACST
14:10 AEST
17:10 NZ

(5 min)

Break

12:15 AWST
13:45 ACST
14:15 AEST
17:15 NZ

(30 min)

2020 Award Presentation

Innovation in Teaching and Learning
Sponsored by Catalyst
 
Andrew Boag
Managing Director, Catalyst 
12:45 AWST
14:15 ACST
14:45 AEST
17:45 NZ

(5 min)

Take-aways from the Day

Adrian Dillon
Chief Information Officer, University of Tasmania 

 

12:50 AWST
14:20 ACST
14:50 AEST
17:50 NZ

(60 min)

Networking 

CLOSED SESSION = no vendors.  While we are not expecting any vendors to be present at any session, it is our standard practice to note such sessions.  Viewing of these sessions later will require login to the CAUDIT website.

 

AGENDA DAY 3 – Thursday 01 October 2020
THEME: Grow

It may seem very far away, but this too shall pass. Our strategy must include planning to become the digital leaders our institutions need us to be to guide them into the future. What opportunities can we take advantage of now to reward us later? Are there new technologies such as automation, data analytics for better insights to explore? How else can we support face to face, blended learning, and online? How can we improve the feedback loop with our end-users? What internal processes, values, or improvements can we focus on to grow our foundations?  Could AI permit us to scale more effectively and efficiently when required?

Note: NZ times are displayed with adjusted Daylight Saving which takes effect on Sunday 27 September 2020. 

Time

Event

9:00 AWST
10:30 ACST
11:00 AEST
14:00 NZ

(60 min)

Doors Open 

10.00 AWST
11:30 ACST
12.00 AEST
15.00 NZ

(5 min)

Housekeeping

Niranjan Prabhu
Chief Information Officer and Director, Australian Catholic University
10:05 AWST
11:35 ACST
12:05 AEST
15:05 NZ

(10 min)

Sponsor of the Day Welcome


Ram Bali 
Regional Head ANZ, Espire Infolabs 
10:15 AWST
11:45 ACST
12:15 AEST
15:15 NZ

(30 min)

CLOSED SESSION

Student X - Imagining the future of the student experience 

Debra Bordignon
Chief Technology Officer, NTT Global
10:45 AWST
12:15 ACST
12:45 AEST
15:45 NZ

(5 min)

Break

10:50 AWST
12:20 ACST
12:50 AEST
15:50 NZ

(40 min)

Group Discussion (Topic: Grow)

Gleaning from discussions around ‘contain’ and ‘sustain’, where do we need to grow for the future? Table discussions to share and workshop examples and creative ideas which place IT at the forefront of institution capabilities.

11:30 AWST
13:00 ACST
13:30 AEST
16:30 NZ

(30 min)

Panel Discussion (Topic: Grow)

Following on from the Table discussions, stay engaged for a Panel Discussion led by peers and sector leaders on the topic of ‘grow’.

Panel Members 

Jason Mangan  
Chief Technology Officer, The University of Auckland 
 
Debra Bordignon
Chief Technology Officer, NTT Global
 
Manjunatha G. Kukkuru
AVP and Principal Research Analyst -Center for Emerging Technology Solutions (iCETS), Infosys

 

12:00 AWST
13:30 ACST
14:00 AEST
17:00 NZ

(10 min)

CAUDIT Update - Professional Development 

Kerrie Campbell
Vice President, CAUDIT & CIO, Flinders University 
12:10 AWST
13:40 ACST
14:10 AEST
17:10 NZ

(5 min)

Break

12:15 AWST
13:45 ACST
14:15 AEST
17:15 NZ

(30 min)

2020 Award Presentation

Excellence in Research Support
Sponsored by Dropbox Business
 
Ellen Pollak
Enterprise Account Executive, Dropbox
12:45 AWST
14:15 ACST
14:45 AEST
17:45 NZ

(5 min)

Take-aways from the Day

Niranjan Prabhu
Chief Information Officer and Director, Australian Catholic University
12:50 AWST
14:20 ACST
14:50 AEST
17:50 NZ

(60 min)

Networking 

CLOSED SESSION = no vendors.  While we are not expecting any vendors to be present at any session, it is our standard practice to note such sessions.  Viewing of these sessions later will require login to the CAUDIT website.

 

AGENDA DAY 4 – Friday 02 October 2020
THEME: Bringing it all together

What are you doing or thinking of doing?  Which of contain, sustain and grow are you focussed on now, or are you trying to tackle all three at once. This is about you and what you bring to the discussion as much as it is about the speakers.  Engage and you will contribute to both the sector and your own institutions.

Note: NZ times are displayed with adjusted Daylight Saving which takes effect on Sunday 27 September 2020. 

Time

Event

9:00 AWST
10:30 ACST
11:00 AEST
14:00 NZ

(60 min)

Doors Open 

10.00 AWST
11:30 ACST
12.00 AEST
15.00 NZ

(5 min)

Housekeeping

Anne Kealley
CEO, CAUDIT
10:05 AWST
11:35 ACST
12:05 AEST
15:05 NZ

(10 min)

Sponsor of the Day Welcome

Anthony McDermott
Sales Director APAC, Tribal
 
John Fraser
Product Lead, Tribal
10:15 AWST
11:45 ACST
12:15 AEST
15:15 NZ

(30 min)

CLOSED SESSION

KEYNOTE

Facing the Future: Higher Education System in the post-Covid Era 

Professor Zlatko Skirbiš
Provost, Australian Catholic University
10:45 AWST
12:15 ACST
12:45 AEST
15:45 NZ

(30 min)

AARNet Update

Charles Sterner
Chief Information Security Officer, AARNet 
11:15 AWST
12:45 ACST
13:15 AEST
16:15 NZ

(10 min)

CAUDIT Update - Activities and Values

Anne Kealley
CEO, CAUDIT
11:25 AWST
12:55 ACST
13:25 AEST
16:25 NZ

(5 min)

Break

11:30 AWST
13:00 ACST
13:30 AEST
16:30 NZ

(60 min)

2020 Award Presentations

Operational Excellence
 
Lou Markstrom
CEO, Results Group International 
 

and

Emerging Leader
Sponsored by Rimini Street
 
Paul Hill
Senior Account Executive, Rimini Street 
12:30 AWST
14:00 ACST
14:30 AEST
17:30 NZ

(5 min)

Take-aways from the Meeting

Niranjan Prabhu
Chief Information Officer  and Director, Australian Catholic University 
 
12:35 AWST
14:05 ACST
14:35 AEST
17:35 NZ

(60 min)

Networking

CLOSED SESSION = no vendors.  While we are not expecting any vendors to be present at any session, it is our standard practice to note such sessions.  Viewing of these sessions later will require login to the CAUDIT website.

Presentations (where available) from past CAUDIT Member Meetings can be accessed here