You are here

Executive Committee

President - Mr Bruce Callow
Griffith University

Bruce is the Chief Digital Officer for Griffith University.  Previous to this current role, Bruce was the Director of Information and Communication Technology Services at Griffith (four years) and Deputy Director ICTS.

Overall, Bruce has some 15 plus years’ experience in the Higher Education industry with some 30 plus years in total in the IT industry; government, private and education areas. During his time at Griffith, he has served on the Board of Directors for the global Higher Education Users Group and Chair of the ANZ Higher Education Users Group (six years). I am currently a member of the Global Oracle Education & Research Strategy Council (two years), Vice President of the Australian Access Federation and Chair of QUESTnet.

Vice President - Mr Chris Bridge
Queensland University of Technology

Chris is the Director of Information Technology Services for Queensland University of Technology and Chair of the Queensland Branch Executive Committee for the Australian Computer Society.

He has over 20 Years ICT industry experience across a broad range of industry sectors and technology environments. Much of Chris’ experience has been gained in professional services and consulting roles, responsible for systems integration, software development, outsourcing and project management services.

Prior to joining QUT, Chris was the Director for ICT Shared Services at Monash University and Country Manager for Technical Services in Hewlett-Packard, responsible for driving business strategy and plans, delivery of IT solutions and professional services, as well as supporting new business growth.

Chris is the Chair of the Queensland Branch Executive Committee for the Australian Computer Society, a member of the CAUDIT Executive Committee and Deputy Chair of the Queensland Education, Science and Technology Network (QUESTnet).

Secretary, Public Officer - Mr Kerry Holling
Western Sydney University

Kerry joined Western Sydney University in July 2011 and is the Chief Information and Digital Officer.  He has responsibility for Digital Strategy and Innovation, Solutions and Project Services, IT Operations, Digital Security and Risk, Procurement and Planning Services, frontline Academic and Campus-based support, and is a member of the University Executive Committee.

Kerry is the Chair of the NSW and ACT University Directors of IT (NAUDIT), Co-Chair of the combined NSW Health and University CIO Forum and a member of the ParraConnect, a smart cities initiative led by the Parramatta City Council

From 2007 until 2011 he was the CIO for the NSW Department of Human Services.  Previously he was the Australian CIO for Digital Equipment Corporation (1996-1998), Compaq Computers (1998-2002) and Hewlett-Packard (2002-2006).

Treasurer - Mr Scott Sorley
University of Southern Queensland

Scott Sorley is the Executive Director of ICT Services at the University of Southern Queensland.  Scott is responsible for enterprise wide planning, coordination and delivery of USQ information and communications systems.  Scott has led major system and change projects to deliver benefits that transform and maximise business value.

Scott has a particular interest in enabling Higher Education and its mission to improve people's lives and create value for society.

Member - Mr Niranjan Prabhu
Australian Catholic University

Niranjan Prabhu joined the CAUDIT Executive on 3 May 2017 to complete the term created by the vacancy of 'Past-President'.  Niranjan is the Director Information Technology at Australian Catholic University. Preceding this appointment Niranjan was employed by The University of Melbourne where he held multiple titles since 2011, such as Director - Enterprise Solutions, Director - Strategy & Planning and most recently CIO & Executive Director – Digital. In these positions, Niranjan has been responsible for the development of the IT Strategy, Enterprise Architecture and Roadmaps to lead multi-discipline teams to select, plan, design and deploy all infrastructure and application technologies to meet agreed service requirements and strategic objectives.

Prior to joining the Higher Education Sector Niranjan has worked in several senior management roles at HP, EDS, Colonial Bank and made significant contribution in establishing, developing and leading execution of the ICT strategic plans and transformation programs.  Niranjan has a Masters of Digital Communication from Monash University. Niranjan is also an active member of the Council of Australian University Directors of IT (CAUDIT) and has presented conference papers on student portals, enterprise architecture, technology innovation and cloud technologies at several forums.

New Zealand Representative - Mr Eion Hall
University of Waikato

Eion has proven expertise in and a passion for leading and implementing business change for improved organisational performance. He has brought about positive business change for organisations ranging from small private enterprises to large multinationals. Successful projects led by Eion have varied in size from small continuous improvement initiatives to enterprise-wide change. These projects have had a wide-ranging focus including strategy development, technology-enabled change, organisational development, business planning and reporting, health and safety, inventory management and process improvement. 

Eion currently holds the position of Director of Information Technology Services at the University of Waikato, New Zealand; is the Chair of the Universities New Zealand ICT Committee and a member of the CAUDIT Executive Committee.

He holds a MBA (Distinction) gained from University of Waikato, and has received a number of notable awards for Project of the Year, Project Management, Excellence in Leadership and Collaboration. 

Co-opted Member - Ms Bev McQuade
The University of Adelaide

Bev has been co-opted to the CAUDIT Executive Committee from 6 October until the 2019 AGM.  Bev has over 30 years’ experience in strategic change in companies primarily in the financial services sector. She has performed similar roles in State and Federal Government. Her focus has been strategic change incorporating people, process and technology that drives shareholder return on investment and delivers great customer experiences. She is also passionate about creating a strong culture of high performing and engaged teams.

At ANZ Bank Bev held the role of Global Head of Information Services for the Retail Bank managing the development of CIS and CRM solutions and the transition to Internet banking and online services etc. Bev returned to South Australia for family reasons early 2008 and commenced with SA Water later that year. Bev has extensive experience in all aspects of Information Technology and Services ensuring solutions meet the business needs.

The utilities sector was embarking on significant change with a strong technology dependency. Bev has been instrumental in addressing the reliability and resilience of technology for the water utility as well as developing and implementing an IT Strategy that continues to advance and has enabled operational technology, digital services, business intelligence, and operational reliability and more recently a customer digital focus. Bev is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Her previous employers include SA Water, ANZ Bank, SGIC, Mutual Community (BUPA), Health Insurance Commission.