CAUDIT Announces Meritorious Service Award Recipients

CAUDIT’s mission is to enable the application of digital capabilities to transform education and research. Central to achieving this mission is the support of our Member Representatives who actively engage in our programs including Members’ Members’ Meetings, the CAUDIT Leadership Institute, events and as Members of the Executive Committee.

The CAUDIT Meritorious Service Awards seek to recognise former Member Representatives who have made significant contributions to CAUDIT and the sector, and have helped bring our mission to life.

Last week at the 2022 CAUDIT Spring Members’ Meeting Dinner in Brisbane, we proudly presented Meritorious Service Awards to Kerry Holling, Rob Moffatt, Fiona Rankin, Kerrie Campbell and Anne Kealley.

We’ve outlined some of the contributions and achievements of this year’s Meritorious Service Award recipients below.

Anne Kealley
Anne has been an active contributor to CAUDIT and the sector, primarily through her role as former CEO of CAUDIT. Anne was CEO for over seven and a half years and has 27 years in Higher Education including as Acting Director, Information Services at ANU and Manager Western Australian Energy Research Alliance at the University of Western Australia.

Anne has made an extraordinary contribution to our Association, the sector and internationally including:

  • CAUDIT initiatives including the Australasian Higher Education Cybersecurity Service (AHECS), CAUDIT cybersecurity, the CAUDIT Partner Program and CAUDIT branding and website updates.
  • Fostering distribution of the CAUDIT Higher Education Reference Model as an international collaboration now having been distributed to over 370 institutions worldwide and federated to our UK, US and Europe counterparts.
  • Sector support including chair of AeRO, participation in ORCID, AAF and the Digital Student Data Project, Inaugural Chair of the AHECS Executive Steering Committee and creation of the CHEITA Complexity index.
  • Vice President of CHEITA and forging ongoing relationships with international peers including EDUCAUSE, UCISA, HEITSA and CUCCIO.
  • Member of the EDUCAUSE International Task Force.

Kerry Holling
Kerry has contributed extensively to CAUDIT and the sector and continues to serve on the CAUDIT Executive as an Independent Director. Kerry was the Chief Information and Digital Officer at Western Sydney University from 2011-2022. Kerry was the Chair of the NSW and ACT University Directors of IT (NAUDIT) and Co-Chair of the combined NSW Health and University CIO Forum. In 2017 Kerry was recognised as one of the “Top 10” most effective and innovative CIOs in Australia by CIO Magazine.

CAUDIT Contributions

  • Independent Director 2022 – ongoing
  • Secretary 2016-2022
  • Public Officer 2017-2022
  • Strategic Procurement Committee 2017-2019
  • Membership Category Review 2018-2022

Rob Moffatt
Rob has been an active contributor to CAUDIT and the sector. Rob was CIO at the University of Queensland for over 10 years from 2010-2020. Rob is respected as a leading voice for the sector including leading the negotiation with AARNet of the current Access Agreement on behalf of all Australian universities and the CSIRO after negotiations stalled in 2013 and representing the sector on the University Foreign Interference Taskforce. Rob was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia in 2003.

CAUDIT Contributions

  • Wireless working party 2014
  • THETA Organising Committee 2015
  • US Study tour 2017
  • Spring Members Meeting Committee 2017

Fiona Rankin
Fiona was an active member of the CAUDIT community. Fiona was the CIO for the University of Wollongong from 2014 – 2022. In 2019 Fiona was ranked in the top 50 Australian CIOs and named as the leading CIO in the sector and CIO of the year in Education in 2017 in the iTnews benchmark awards.

CAUDIT Contributions

  • CAUDIT Executive Ordinary Member 2015-2017
  • THETA Organising Committee Chair 2017 and hosting institution
  • 2019-2022 Non-Executive Director AARNet Board
  • US Study Tour 2017

Kerrie Campbell
Kerrie was active on the CAUDIT Executive, remains on the CLI Faculty and was the 2018 AMM Chair. Kerrie Campbell has experience across two institutions as Deputy CIO at the University of Adelaide 2014 – 2017 and CIO 2017 – 2017, and CIO at Flinders University 2017 – 2020. Kerrie was awarded 2020 Telstra Business Woman of the Year for recognition of her work. Kerrie is a board member of SABRENET.

CAUDIT Contributions

  • Vice-President 2019-2020
  • Ordinary Member 2018 - 2019
  • CLI Faculty 2020 - current
  • CAUDIT Membership Category Review
  • 2018 AMM Chair

Resource Image

Resource Type


CAUDIT acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the lands where we live, learn and work. We pay our respects to Elders past and present and celebrate the stories, culture and traditions of all First Nations people.