CAUDIT Meritorious Service Awards 2024

In the ever-evolving landscape of higher education and research IT, the invaluable expertise provided by the CAUDIT network remains critical to the success of institutions and the wider sector. 

Central to achieving our mission is the active involvement of our Member Representatives whose commitment to collaboration, knowledge sharing and best practice continues to propel our sector forward.  

Each year, the CAUDIT Meritorious Service Awards seek to recognise former or outgoing Member Representatives who have made significant contributions to CAUDIT and the sector. 

This week we celebrated these individuals at the 2024 Autumn Members' Meeting dinner in Hobart. Meritorious Service Awards were presented to Gina White, Ian Palmer, Tim Hume, Mike Harte and Craig Warren in recognition of their outstanding and prolonged support of the sector.

We’ve outlined some of their contributions and achievements below.

Gina White

Gina White.jpg

Throughout her tenure at Charles Sturt University and Southern Cross University, Gina White brought a wealth of experience and passion to her roles within CAUDIT and contributed significantly to the advancement of the sector. Gina provided invaluable leadership as CAUDIT President from 2019 to 2021 and her tenure as Immediate Past President until 2023 and as Chair of THETA 2023 demonstrated her dedication to advancing digital capabilities in education and research. 

CAUDIT Contributions

  • Member Representative 2016-2020 
  • CAUDIT President 2019-2021
  • Immediate past President 2020-2023
  • Vice President 2018-2019
  • THETA 2023 Chair
  • Active participation in CAUDIT Members’ Meetings


Ian Palmer

Ian Palmer.jpg

Ian Palmer served as Head of ITS at UTS College from 2020 to 2023 and contributed actively as a Member Representative during this time including as a dedicated participant at Members’ Meetings and through active involvement within the NSW NAUDIT group, including as chair from 2022 to 2023. 

CAUDIT Contributions

  • Member Representative 2020-2023
  • NAUDIT Chair 2022-2023
  • Active participation in CAUDIT Members’ Meetings


Tim Hume

Tim Hume.jpg

As a Member Representative from 2019 to 2023, Tim's active engagement in CAUDIT activities helped shape the direction of digital transformation initiatives, in particular, Tim played a key role in supporting the research storage CloudStor replacement. 

CAUDIT Contributions

  • Member Representative 2019-2023
  • Active participation in CAUDIT Members’ Meetings
  • Support in Research Storage (CloudStor replacement) 


Mike Harte

Mike Harte.jpg

Mike Harte's tenure at the University of Otago, spanning over 19 years until his retirement in March 2024, make him the longest-serving CAUDIT Member Representative. Mike's contributions through active involvement in the Members’ Meetings and the CAUDIT Top Ten, and as a champion for the New Zealand CAUDIT Community, have made a significant impact on the sector. 

CAUDIT Contributions

  • Member Representative 2005-2024
  • Active participation in CAUDIT Members’ Meetings
  • CAUDIT Top Ten
  • Active in the New Zealand community


Craig Warren

Craig Warren.jpg

With over four decades of service at Deakin University and three years of steadfast support as a Member Representative from 2021-2024, Craig has contributed significantly to the sector. Craig was the 2022 CAUDIT Autumn Members’ Meeting Chair, marking a pivotal moment after the pandemic, and served on the AHECS Executive Committee from 2020 to 2024. 

CAUDIT Contributions

  • Member Representative 2021-2024
  • 2022 CAUDIT Autumn Members’ Meeting Chair
  • 2020-2024 AHECS Executive Committee
  • Active participation in CAUDIT Members’ Meetings

Resource Image

Original Publish Date

24 May 2024

Resource Type


CAUDIT acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the lands where we live, learn and work. We pay our respects to Elders past and present and celebrate the stories, culture and traditions of all First Nations people.